Book Review: Paradox Lake by Vincent Zandri

“Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Stephen King.” Let’s find out if that’s true.

Blurb

Sculptor and single mom, Rose Conley, is haunted by her tragic past and anxious about her uncertain future. She needs to get away from it all. On sabbatical from the college where she teaches art, she and her daughter rent a house for three months in the Adirondack lakeside community of Paradox.

Rose desperately needs time alone with her twelve-year-old daughter before the teenage years hit. In the wake of the premature deaths of her oldest daughter, Allison, and her husband, Charlie, Rose wants nothing more than to nurture Anna every moment she can. 

But idyllic Paradox Lake transforms into a nightmare when a monster from the past invades Rose’s retreat—and targets her daughter for his special brand of horror.

Review

Paradox Lake sure has the makings of a good thriller: a creepy setting, Mam and daughter in a house alone, strange people living in the town. And there were certainly times that this book sent shivers down my spine. I quite enjoyed the bones of this story, however, there was too many things that took me away from full enjoyment.

I think the main thing was the dialogue. Every time one person addressed another person they used their name. As well as this, a lot of the sentence structures and things people said felt unnatural, which stopped me building a connection with them and distracted me from the story. I also found the relationship between Rose and her daughter, and her partner actually, too undefined. Although they were made out at the start of the book not to be very good, the actions and words of Rose later on proved opposite to this.

I can’t say I disliked Paradox Lake but I didn’t love it either. If you fancy trying it out for yourself, you can pick up a copy here.

I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.