Book Review: The Baby Group by Caroline Corcoran

This next book has been in my backlog for quite a while now. Pity. With hindsight, I really should have bumped it up the list a long time ago.

Goodreads Blurb

The Baby Group by Caroline Corcoran

Scarlett’s golden life suddenly unravels when someone sends a shocking video of her to everyone she knows. The only people who claim they haven’t seen it are the friends in her new mothers’ group: Cora, Emma and Asha.

Scarlett is forced to delve into her past to discover who is out to get her. But as her circle of trust gathers around her, she has to ask – are her friends as innocent as they seem?

A gripping read about motherhood, secrets and lies, perfect for fans of Heidi Perks and B A Paris.

The Baby Group Book Cover

Review

I absolutely flew through The Baby Group thanks to its gripping story. The author built up the intensity by including chapters from the culprit’s point of view, while also divulging tidbits of information as the book progresses, showing us that this person is closer to Scarlett than she originally thought. But who exactly that person is is something you are kept guessing about until the very end.

While The Baby Group was totally my kind of book, it was not the story itself that won me over; it was its reflection on society. Through Scarlett, the author deals with the very real topics of slut-shaming and revenge porn. As much as we believe ourselves to be a modern society, the woman still comes out worse in these situations, with men often seen as a “hero” when it comes to their sex life. And what is saddest of all is the fact that women are each other’s enemies rather than a support system, more often than not.

There are times when Scarlett doesn’t really stand a chance against the opinion of others – and that’s beside her sex tape. As the reader, we learn that many of the other characters in the book find Scarlett to be selfish, vain, self-absorbed, at fault in this entire scenario. What I found interesting is that the reader doesn’t really get the chance to formulate their own opinion of her. There are no obvious outliers that present Scarlett in this way; we are simply coming to a conclusion based on what other characters are telling us. This tactic made me feel more empathy towards Scarlett and had me really rooting for her as she fights not only to unearth the culprit but hold herself together as well.

Overall? I really enjoyed The Baby Group. If it sounds right up your street, you can pick up a copy here.

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.