Book Review: The Book of Us by Andrea Michael

Out of every fifty books or so, one comes along that is a complete surprise. Little did I know how much this next book would touch my heart.

Goodreads Blurb

The Book of Us by Andrea Michael

She had to be able to look back at this as a time that was sacred, magical. There would be pain enough later.

Cass and Loll used to be inseparable. They met at university and they made sense, like two halves of a whole. They had planned their lives around each other, writing down their dreams in The Big Book of Our Life – the things they wanted to achieve, the places they’d go after they finished university. But then one night changed everything.

Seven years later, Loll receives a letter from her old friend. The coming year will be the year they both turn 30, but Loll might be making it to 30 alone. Cass has cancer. She wants to know if Loll still has The Big Book as her dying wish is to do everything they had planned. Little does Loll know that there is one big difference: Veronica, Cass’s six-year-old daughter, will be coming with them.

Time is ticking for Cass, who is desperate to make lasting memories for her young daughter and ensure that she’s leaving her in good hands. But how do you say goodbye to those you love most in the world?

An emotional and uplifting novel of friendship, love, and the family you choose. Perfect for fans of Gill Childs, Amanda Prowse, and Jojo Moyes.

The Book of Us Book Cover

Review

The Book of Us told a story I won’t forget for a long time. It is a tragic story but one also filled with love. It is a story that had the potential to be somewhat cheesy but instead dealt with tough topics with respect. It is a story so packed with emotion and so natural that it brought a tear to my eye more than once.

At the same time, The Book of Us also has its laughs. There were also times when I didn’t like Cass when I felt I should. Sure, Cass has drawn the short straw in life and, in a way, this has helped her mature, but she also proved herself to be a selfish friend at times, content to have Lauren in her shadow, there to be called on when needed.

Now, I have to admit that I am biased towards Loll. She reminded me of myself in many ways: the anxiety, the feeling that something is missing, the want to do more. I’ve also been part of a somewhat similar friendship. I couldn’t help but root for Loll and become angry when people made her feel like she wasn’t strong enough or when they dismissed her anxiety.

I wish I could do The Book of Us more justice. However, I think the fact that it made me feel so deeply is a testament to how great a story it is. If I could sum it up in one line, The Book of Us is a story about creating your own life and taking chances. Is that something you need in your life right now?

Pick up your copy of The Book of Us here.

I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.