Book Review: Every Little Secret by Ruth Speechley

Bored? Looking for entertainment? I have an amazingly addictive book for you!

Goodreads Blurb

Every Little Secret by Ruth Speechley

She believed the lies… The truth will destroy her.

Maddy Saunders’ life is unravelling. After the heartbreaking, unexpected death of 5-year-old daughter Chloe, she’s trying desperately to keep her family together for other daughter, Emily. But when the police inform her that husband Max is missing, the rucksack found at the bottom of a local canal leading them to believe he has taken his own life, her grief takes a new and sharper turn.

Unable to believe that Max would abandon her and Emily, Maddy desperately searches for clues as to what has happened to her husband. But as she delves deeper into his secrets, Maddy finds a web of betrayal that forces her to re-examine everything about the life they have built together.

Maddened by grief, and forced into untangling Max’s lies, Maddy will stop at nothing to uncover the truth – even if it destroys her in the process.

A gripping, absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller that will have you hooked – perfect for fans of K.L. Slater, Shalini Boland and B.A. Paris.

52760181._sy475_

Review

This is one of the best books I read in April (also see Sisters of Berlin). Right now, I’m looking for books that can sweep me away into another world, and this certainly fit the bill.

For one Every Little Secret is full of twists and turns. I guess the title already indicated that but I really had no idea how it would all end. And what all these twists and turns eventually lead to is answers to the questions: “How well do you really know your partner?”

Now, the ending of Every Little Secret was fantastic but the journey there was even better. This is mainly due to the great work the author did with the characters. As readers, we are able to at least understand the decisions each characters makes. There is no black and white. Characters I thought would be my favourite I was eventually turned off, those I criticised I eventually sympathised with, and those who appeared to be wholesome were just too good to be true. All in all, every character in this book was extremely well thought out and brought some wonderful twists to the story.

What else did I like about Every Little Secret? I liked how the chapters switch between past and present, each providing a different perspective. I liked how fast-paced the story was and how I always wanted one more chapter. And, to repeat what I said at the very start, I liked, really liked, how amazingly addictive this book was.

Pick up your copy of Every Little Secret here.

I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.